German musical virtuoso Hannes Grossmann (Alkaloid, Blotted Science, Hate Eternal, ex-Obscura, ex-Necrophagist) has announced his second solo album entitled The Crypts of Sleep. After successfully crowdsourcing the funds to independently release his critically acclaimed debut album The Radial Covenant in 2014, Grossmann has decided to follow the same approach for his much anticipated follow-up.

The album was entirely written, arranged, self-recorded and self-produced by Grossmann between September 2015 and June 2016 at his own Mordor Sounds studio in Veitsbronn,Germany. Grossmann plays drums on the entire album and enlisted the the help of numerous all-stars in the extreme music scene including Danny Tunker (Alkaloid, Abhorrent, ex-Aborted) – Rhythm and Lead Guitars, Linus Klausenitzer (Obscura, Alkaloid, Noneuclid) – Bass, Morean (Alkaloid, Dark Fortress, Noneuclid) – Vocals, Christian Muenzner (Spawn of Possession, ex-Obscura, ex-Necrophagist) – Lead Guitars, Fountainhead (ex-Obscura, Despotic) – Lead Guitars, Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry) – Lead Guitars, and Erik Rutan (ex-Morbid Angel, Hate Eternal) – Lead Guitars.

Complete details and packages can be found via Indiegogo here. The album will see it’s official release later this year and features incredible artwork from Swiss artist Milan Hofstetter.

To launch the campaign, MetalSucks have shared the first single from The Crypts of Sleep which they describe as “INSERT QUOTE”. Listen to “To Sow The Seeds of Earth” via MetalSucks and Soundcloud HERE.

Hannes Grossmann talked about the new material and the campaign via a video:

Additionally he added the following:

“I can’t express how excited I am about my new solo album. This time I came up with very compact arrangements, which make the material sound way more cohesive as a whole. The songs on the album are very melodic, but at the same time I think it’s my heaviest output so far.
Besides six brand-new compositions, there are also three songs on the album which I had written for the next Obscura album before I quit the band. I love those songs, so I decided to keep them for my second solo release – and here we are…
I guess you could call this album one of the heaviest melodic death metal albums ever – if you’re a friend of superlatives. You could also call it ‘Iron Maiden Death Metal” – and you probably wouldn’t be that far off the truth. However, I would call ‘The Crypts Of Sleep’ a worthy sequel of what was started on Obscura’s ‘Cosmogenesis’, and what I developed on ‘Omnivium’ and my last solo output ‘The Radial Covenant’.”

Stay tuned for more details about Hannes Grossmann and The Crypts of Sleep.

The Crypts of Sleep Tracklist
1 To Sow The Seeds Of Earth
2 Silence Speaks
3 In The Eye Of The Storm
4 Hail Satan
5 Oceanborn
6 The Crypts Of Sleep
7 Gravity Waves (Instrumental)
8 Beyond The Boundaries Of Death
9 Anima Inferna